Abuja Profile

Many in Nigeria see themselves as belonging to one or more of the 250 ethnic/tribal groups in the country rather than as a citizen of Nigeria itself. The three areas most Nigerians align themselves to are the Yoruba (westerners), Igbo (easterners) and Hausa (northerners).

As such it was decided in the 1970s to move the country's capital from Lagos on the Gulf of Guinea, to the centre of the country in an effort to symbolise national unity.

On 12 December 1991 the newly built city of Abuja became Nigeria's official capital after being constructed throughout the 1980s.

Abuja Profile

Abuja Profile

Abuja Profile



Abuja Profile: This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license

Abuja Profile

It takes its name from Abu Ja, the the 62nd King of Zaria who ascended the throne in 1825 and constructed a new capital in the south-west of the ancient kingdom of Zaria calling it Abuja. Although Lagos remains Nigeria's most populous city with over seven million inhabitants, Abuja is growing fast and together with its outer areas, is currently home to some three million people.

View Larger Map


Volunteer Work

African Volunteer Work Opportunities

Get Your
Free Listing!

African Volunteer Directory

Latest TEFL
Jobs in Africa

TEFL Jobs in Africa

Sponsor a Child

Sponsor a Child in Nigeria